Si la pluie en Espagne reste principalement dans la plaine, alors sûrement la neige à Bordeaux souffle lentement avec le…? Non. Nous sommes sous forme de pluie inondée que les plaines Pygmalionic, heureusement, quelque chose que je comptais pour, retour du Canada avec une nouvelle marque (la baie) parapluie et appropriées rainboots. Je suis reconnaissant pour le temps exceptionnellement agréable que nous avions à Toronto, que de retour à Bordeaux, la plupart des jours sont courts et humide, donc les observations du soleil sont rares.

Les souvenirs des vacances me garder au chaud et au sec: un jeu de bowling avec des règles que personne ne sait, quelqu'un complote pour voler la caméra, notre propre Scrooge personnelle ne veut pas être dérangé de son journal du matin. Un rare moment où personne ne fait face aux Briqueterie Toronto, et 1920 à thème réveillon du Nouvel An à Londres. (Merci John et Cat #1 pour vos photos!)

Les souvenirs des vacances me garder au chaud et au sec: un jeu de bowling avec des règles que personne ne sait, quelqu'un complote pour voler la caméra, et notre propre Scrooge personnelle ne veut pas être dérangé de son journal du matin. Un rare moment où personne ne fait face aux Briqueterie Toronto, et 1920 à thème réveillon du Nouvel An à Londres. (Merci John et Cat #1 pour vos photos!)

sous la pluie le trottoir brille comme de l'argent

sous la pluie le trottoir brille comme de l'argent

Ils disent qu'il ne pleut jamais, où il pleut aussi bien. I returned home to another change in environment: ma logeuse a, for family reasons, a décidé de se déplacer dans notre appartement avec nous et dort sur le canapé maintenant. Elle est tout à fait amical, et est une bonne personne à pratiquer le français avec comme elle ne parle pas anglais. Mais la perte de l'espace commun et, nettement, le tabagisme, is starting to rain on my parade so I’m on the hunt for new lodgings.

Cela dit, il est bon d'être de retour dans le swing des choses, rattraper ses camarades de classe et qui a fait quoi pendant la pause. Nous commençons avec un bang – a week chock-full of economics and statistics with a German-Swiss professor from New York University (NYU). He starts with a refresher on microeconomics, and before long we are drowning in supply and demand curves, les scénarios de marché et d'autres concepts représentés graphiquement. Il est en fait assez impressionnant que nous parvenons à rester engagé toute la semaine, as I found these subjects rather dry in my undergrad days. It helps that the concepts are interspersed with lessons from life in New York or Washingtonlike how many Starbucks are required in Manhattan to garner the most available consumer dollars, ou les chances d'acheter une bonne qualité utilisés voiture à Jersey.

Notre semaine en bref.

notre semaine en bref.

Nous couvrons beaucoup de terrain: l'impact du changement climatique sur la qualité du vin, the impact of wine experts on wine perceptions and prices. There’s a tasting mid-week, organisé par l'un des étudiants dans un programme de viticulture différente, qui présente une gamme de vins de Domaine la Suffrene dans la région de Bandol, près de Marseille. It’s far too exciting an experiment to pass up after a few days of statistics, so the degustation turns into a blind tasting in short order. Il y a quelques belles (prévoyante? visible?) des roses, et 5 rouges qui sont couverts. Parmi eux se trouve un 100% Mourvaison – un vieux cépage français qui est également liée à la Négrette – qui devient assez rare (Je ne pouvais pas vraiment trouver des sites anglais qui en parlent!) Il est tout à fait savoureux – odeurs un peu sucré et a des tanins élégants, malgré sa jeunesse, Je bois plus de cela, mais il est une découverte inhabituelle.

Regardez comment les statistiques peuvent être fascinantes!

Regardez comment fascinant nous trouvons des statistiques!

Les résultats sont en, et quelques jours plus tard, we look at different ways that scoring can be manipulated to change the outcome. Le Mourvaison vient en deuxième (ou troisième, depending on which method one uses), et nous éloignons pas tout à fait confiance des scores de vin, nulle part, déjà. Une friandise particulièrement intéressant est la manière ce restaurant fictif won a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for its wine list (La réponse du Wine Spectator ici) lequel, si rien d'autre, souligne certainement que lorsque l'argent est impliqué, perfect objectivity is harder to find.

La dégustation Bandol est sur le point de commencer, et dégustation de vin pour les statistiques est un peu moins amusant que les autres types.

La dégustation Bandol est sur le point de commencer, et dégustation de vin pour les statistiques est un peu plus difficile que d'habitude.

The final test for the week is another blind tasting – pour voir comment cohérente nos palais sont lors de la dégustation de multiples combinaisons des mêmes cinq vins les uns contre les autres. Ils sont tous les vins de Bordeaux bon marché, mais mes papilles ne sont pas tout à fait assez raffiné pour être cohérent, particularly after dousing my tongue with young tannins repeatedly.

Il a été une longue semaine, donc le week-end est assez calme, mis à part une promenade dans le Sauternais (la place des vins doux), et un peu de chasse appartement. Les doigts croisés pour quelques bonnes nouvelles sur ce front dans un avenir proche.

Les potes de soleil à travers les arbres à Uzeste. Un château du 13ème siècle, quelque part dans le Sauternais, et les fleurs confuses commencent à fleurir.

Les potes de soleil à travers les arbres à Uzeste. Un château du 13ème siècle, quelque part dans le Sauternais, et les fleurs confuses commencent à fleurir.

(Vu 64 fois, 36 vues aujourd'hui)

2 pensées surtoute la pluie tombe sur mon pain

Laissez une réponse

Votre adresse email ne sera pas publié. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire le spam. Apprenez comment vos données de commentaire sont transformées.

If the rain in Spain stays mainly in the plain, then surely the snow in Bordeaux blows slowly with the…? Nope. We’re as rain-drenched as the Pygmalionic plains, fortunately something I planned for, returning from Canada with a brand new (the Bay) umbrella and proper rainboots. I’m grateful for the unusually pleasant weather we had in Toronto, as back in Bordeaux, most days are short and wet, so sightings of the sun are few and far between.

Memories of the holidays keep me warm and dry: a bowling game with rules that nobody knows, someone plots to steal the camera, our own personal Scrooge doesn't want to be disturbed from his morning paper. A rare moment where no one is making faces at the Toronto Brickworks, and a 1920s themed New Year's Eve in London. (Thanks John and Cat #1 for your pictures!)

Memories of the holidays keep me warm and dry: a bowling game with rules that nobody knows, someone plots to steal the camera, and our own personal Scrooge doesn’t want to be disturbed from his morning paper. A rare moment when no one is making faces at the Toronto Brickworks, and a 1920s themed New Year’s Eve in London. (Thanks John and Cat #1 for your pictures!)

in the rain the pavement shines like silver

in the rain the pavement shines like silver

They say it never rains, but it pours.  I returned home to another change in environment: my landlady has, for family reasons, decided to move into our apartment with us and now sleeps on the couch. She’s quite friendly, and is a good person to practice French with as she does not speak English. But the loss of common space and, frankly, the smoking, is starting to rain on my parade so I’m on the hunt for new lodgings.

That said, it’s good to be back in the swing of things, catching up with classmates and who did what over the break. We start out with a bang – a week chock-full of economics and statistics with a German-Swiss professor from New York University (NYU). He starts with a refresher on microeconomics, and before long we are drowning in supply and demand curves, market scenarios and other graphically represented concepts. It’s actually pretty impressive that we manage to stay engaged all week, as I found these subjects rather dry in my undergrad days. It helps that the concepts are interspersed with lessons from life in New York or Washington – like how many Starbucks are required in Manhattan to garner the most available consumer dollars, or the odds of buying a good quality used car in Jersey.

Our week in a nutshell.

our week in a nutshell.

We cover a lot of ground: the impact of climate change on wine quality, the impact of wine experts on wine perceptions and prices. There’s a tasting mid-week, organized by one of the students in a different viticulture program, which presents a range of wines from Domaine la Suffrene in the Bandol region near Marseilles. It’s far too exciting an experiment to pass up after a few days of statistics, so the degustation turns into a blind tasting in short order. There are some lovely (sighted? visible?) rosés, and 5 reds which are covered. Among them is a 100% Mourvaison – an old French varietal that is also related to Negrette – which is becoming quite rare (I actually couldn’t find any English websites that talk about it!) It’s quite tasty – smells a little sweet and has elegant tannins despite its youth, I’d drink more of this but it is an unusual find.

Look how fascinating statistics can be!

Look how fascinating we are finding statistics!

The results are in, and a few days later, we look at different ways that scoring can be manipulated to change the outcome. The Mourvaison comes in second (or third, depending on which method one uses), and we walk away not quite trusting any wine scores, anywhere, ever. One particularly interesting tidbit is the way this fictitious restaurant won a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for its wine list (Wine Spectator’s response here) which, if nothing else, certainly highlights that when money is involved, perfect objectivity is harder to find.

The Bandol tasting is about to begin, and wine tasting for statistics is somewhat less fun than the other kinds.

The Bandol tasting is about to begin, and wine tasting for statistics is somewhat tougher than usual.

The final test for the week is another blind tasting – to see how consistent our palates are when tasting multiple combinations of the same five wines against each other. They are all inexpensive Bordeaux wines, but my taste buds are not quite refined enough to be consistent, particularly after dousing my tongue with young tannins repeatedly.

It’s been a long week so the weekend is fairly quiet, aside from a stroll in Sauternes (the place of sweet wines), and some apartment hunting. Fingers crossed for some good news on this front in the near future.

The sun peeps through the trees in Uzeste. A 13th century castle somewhere in Sauternes, and confused flowers starting to bloom.

The sun peeps through the trees in Uzeste. A 13th century castle somewhere in Sauternes, and confused flowers starting to bloom.

(Visited 51 times, 51 visits today)

2 thoughts on “raindrops keep falling on my bread

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *